Let’s Talk About It Oklahoma

For each program, participants pick up a copy of the book about a month in advance, and on the program date, a university professor from Oklahoma leads a discussion.

Many Trails, Many Tribes: Images of American Indians in Fiction
American Indians have captured the imagination of authors and readers alike. This series traces American Indians as fictional characters, from the stereotypes of James Fenimore Cooper to the complex individuals portrayed by Linda Hogan and Barbara Kingsolver.
Call the library to get signed up for reminder notifications!

Books will be available in July and may be picked up in advance at the Miami Public Library circulation desk.  Sessions will take place at the library in the upstairs meeting room.*  All sessions will begin at 6:30 p.m.  Attendees are asked to fill out a survey at the end of each session.  The program is open and free to the public.

Call 918-541-2292 for more information.

*Arrangements will be made for Zoom attendees on request.  Email ccortner@miamiokla.net to set up.

Schedule & Title

Wednesday, August 10th, 2022

The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper

Guest Scholar: Dr. Brian Cowlishaw


Wednesday, September 14th, 2022

Okla Hannali by R. A. Lafferty

Guest Scholar: Dr. Kurt Lively


Wednesday, October 12th, 2022

Mean Spirit by Linda Hogan

Guest Scholar: Dr. Russell Lawson


Wednesday, November 9th, 2022

House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

Guest Scholar: Dr. Andrew Vassar


Wednesday, December 14th, 2022

Pigs in Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver

Guest Scholar: Dr. John Coward